UPMC | University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
EXTRA! - A biweekly newsletter for staff of UPMC
Friday, Aug. 11, 2006
Volume 17, No. 16
Download a PDF of this issue
Summary Plan DescriptionsArchivesUpcoming EventsResearch StudiesUPMC PerksSubmit a Story

Additional Articles
New diabetes care center to open at Uniontown Hospital

‘Why do you need my
Social Security number?’

‘Disruptive innovation’

Reminder: protecting
sensitive information

Allied Health Career Awareness Day

Winners selected for VIP Day at Steelers training camp


 


Countdown to better health

Act now to complete your My Health screening

Upcoming My Health screenings
The following My Health screenings will be held in August and September. All times are 7 to 11 a.m. unless otherwise noted.

Chatham Center
Friday, Sept. 29

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
Friday, Sept. 15, and Wednesday, Sept. 20

Churchill (Community Provider Services)
Thursday, Sept. 21

Forbes Tower
Wednesday, Aug. 16

Hillman Cancer Center (UPMC Shadyside)
Wednesday, Sept. 27

Magee-Womens Hospital
Monday, Aug. 28

North Hills Surgery Center (Sewickley)
Thursday, Sept. 14

Quantum One
Monday, Sept. 25

Sherwood Oaks
Tuesday, Sept. 12

Starzl Biomedical Science Tower
Wednesday, Sept. 13, and Thursday, Sept. 28

UPMC Horizon
Wednesday, Sept. 6 (Shenango Valley campus)
Thursday, Sept. 7 (Greenville campus)

UPMC Montefiore
Wednesday, Aug. 23, and Friday Aug. 25

UPMC Northwest
Friday, Sept. 8 (also 2 to 5 p.m.)

UPMC Passavant
Tuesday, Aug. 15, and Monday, Sept. 11

UPMC Presbyterian
Monday, Aug. 14; Thursday, Aug. 24 (also 2 to 5 p.m.); Tuesday, Sept. 5; Monday, Sept. 18; and Friday, Sept. 22

UPMC St. Margaret
Tuesday, Aug. 22

UPMC Shadyside
Thursday, Aug. 17 (also 2 to 5 p.m.); Friday, Aug. 18; and Monday, Aug. 21

UPMC South Side
Tuesday, Aug. 29

Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
Thursday, Aug. 31; Friday, Sept. 1; Tuesday, Sept. 19; and Tuesday, Sept. 26

Visit Infonet (http://myhealth.infonet.upmc. com/Screenings.htm) for specific screening locations on each campus.

To schedule your screening, visit https://mcnet.upmchp.com/hponline or call 1-888-553-8762.

Did you know that there are only 49 days remaining to complete your My Health screening? Saturday, Sept. 30, is the deadline for UPMC staff with UPMC Health Plan coverage to attend a health screening — and earn the My Health deductible credit for the 2007 benefit year.

Q: Why should I participate in a health screening?
A: The screenings — part of the My Health program — provide important information about your health, including cholesterol, blood glucose, and blood pressure measurements.

Q: What happens if I don’t participate in a health screening by Sept. 30?
A: It could cost you money. Members who have not participated in a screening between Oct. 1, 2004, and Sept. 30, 2006, will be responsible for paying the program deductible during the 2007 benefit year. This My Health deductible is in addition to any routine deductible associated with your health care coverage.

Q: Can I still sign up?
A: Yes. Screenings are available at many UPMC facilities through September 2006. Some upcoming screenings are listed at right, and a complete list is available on Infonet (http://myhealth.infonet.upmc.com/ Screenings.htm). To schedule your screening, visit https://mcnet.upmchp.com/hponline or call 1-888-553-8762.

Q: How long will I be at the health screening?
A: You will spend 20 to 30 minutes at the screening.

Q: Do I need to fast prior to the screening?
A: It is recommended that you fast for eight to 10 hours before your screening appointment. Fasting is not required, but it is recommended for more accurate results.

Q: The health screening is being held during hours that I work. Do I need to use paid time off (PTO) to attend?
A: No. My Health is a UPMC-sponsored initiative, and supervisors are strongly encouraged to allow staff the flexibility to attend an on-site screening. Talk to your manager or supervisor about making arrangements in your schedule to attend a screening.

Q: Can I schedule a health screening with my doctor instead?
A: Yes. Ask your doctor for tests on total cholesterol, triglycerides, glucose, and blood pressure. Once the tests are completed,
your physician will submit information
to the Health Plan, which will be recorded automatically.

Q: I’m not sure if I’ve qualified for the deductible credit. How can I find out?
A: Call the Health Plan toll-free at
1-888-553-8762 to verify your status.

Q: Will UPMC see my test results?
A: No. UPMC and UPMC Health Plan have taken strong measures to ensure that your information remains, at all times, private and confidential. Any personal health information you provide through your screening is protected by federal and state privacy laws, and UPMC Health Plan will not make the information available to UPMC.

 

Top of page

 

UPMC | University of Pittsburgh Medical Center